Tuesday, June 25, 2013

Emma's Secret

Title ~ Emma's Secret
Author ~ Steena Holmes
Publisher ~ Amazon Publishing
Published ~ June 25, 2013
Book Series ~ Follow up to Finding Emma

Book Blurb ~ For two years, Megan, Peter, and their two older daughters, Alexis and Hannah, dream of nothing but being reunited with the family’s youngest child, Emma, who was kidnapped just before her third birthday. When Emma is miraculously found living with an elderly couple just miles from the family’s home, they are hopeful that her return will heal the wounds her disappearance created.

But Emma is vastly different from the sunny toddler they remember. She barely remembers her parents or her older sisters. She is quiet and withdrawn, and, worst of all, longs for the very people who kidnapped her.

 Megan is consumed with bitterness, while Peter works later and later nights in the company of his gorgeous business partner. And in the middle of everything, Megan’s best friend has become suddenly distant and secretive.

 Then a chance encounter in town leads to a secret that changes everything again for Emma. And Peter must decide between the happiness of his youngest daughter and the trust of his family.

Review ~ Now that Megan and Peter have their daughter, Emma, back life will just go on.  Not really, Emma doesn't really remember her family and it takes a told on everyone.
This book is the perfect follow up and extension of the story in Finding Emma. You get to see how everyone reacts to getting Emma back, everything Megan had been living for.
I loved this book and you recommend if you haven't read Finding Emma pick it up along with Emma's Secret.

FTC Disclaimer ~ I was sent a copy of this book for an completely honest review. No other compensation was offered. 

Saturday, May 4, 2013

I Heart New York

Title ~ I Heart New York
Author ~ Lindsey Kelk
Publisher ~ Harper
Published ~ June 25, 2009
Series ~ I Heart
Book Blurb ~ Get ready to meet Angela Clark as she flees the world's worst wedding for a new life...It's official. Angela Clark is in love - with the most fabulous city in the world. Fleeing her cheating boyfriend and clutching little more than a crumpled bridesmade dress, a pair of Louboutins and her passport, Angela jumps on a plane, destination - NYC. Holed up in a cute hotel room, Angela gets a New York makeover from here NBF Jenny and a whirlwind tour of the city that never sleeps. Before she knows it, Angela is dating two sexy guys. And, best of all, she gets to write about it in her new blog (Carrie Bradshaw eat your heart out). But it's one thing telling reading about your romantic dilemmas, it's another figuring them out for yourself...Angela has fallen head over heels for the big apple, but does she heart New York more than home?

Review ~      I loved this book. I have to admit the only reason why I picked it up is because I was watching a YouTube video and lady that I was watching mentioned she was reading a book by this author. I'm not sure which book it was but I went and looked up the author and decided to just go ahead and pick up the first book in this series and read it. I'm so glad that I did. 
                      I immediately felt connected to Angle's story. I felt sorry for her and everything she went through in one night. I did find it a bit off that she just up and ran away from everything. Maybe that is because I couldn't do that myself but it is a story and anything goes right.
                      Deciding to jet off to New York to get away from it all Angela meet Jenny at the hotel at which she decided to stay. Jenny is a simple employee at The Union who sees herself as the next Oprah. Jenny takes in upon herself to help Angela out after hearing her story. Angela and Jenny immediately hit is off and become friends, which gives Angela a "support" group right from the start of her journey.
                      After a getting an amazing New York makeover and going on a shopping spree, hello you need clothes when you don't have any and an amazing new handbag, Angela meets Tyler who is a Wall Street Banker hotshot and Alex a rock star who is in a kind of popular group but is thinking about disbanding and decides after Jenny basically decides for her that she is going to date both me. Angela doesn't feel comfortable dating both guys after a short period of time but has a hard time "breaking up" with one of the guys.
                       After all is said and done Angela must decide what she wants to due with her life. Not please her Mom and friends back in UK. Not please Tyler, Alex, Jenny or any of her New York friends.

Rating ~ 5 out of 5

Where to purchase ~ I was able to find this book on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and at The Book Depository

Until Next Time...

Happy Reading!

FTC disclaimer ~ No affiliate links are used. Links are just where you can purchase the book if you would like to read it. 

Wednesday, May 1, 2013

What Happened To All The Posts.

All my previous reviews and post are gone.

So not happy about this. I was trying to privatize them so I could update a few for different reason and I guess that I accidentally deleted them. 

Literally every single one of them.

Now I can look at this in one of two ways I have figured.

The first is that I can be super upset and give up for a while.

The second is that I can be happy that it happened. The reason being I was missing reviews for books and I wanted to try to write better reviews for the books I had read.

Clearly I am taking the second option because I don't want to be upset so much to the point I just give up.

I haven't been reading much lately and there are a few books that I had read that have sequel books coming out. I tend to want to read the books in the beginning of the series again so that I can refresh my memory. So this works.

Now my goal is to make sure that I stay up to date on reviews of books. I might try to post different book related things, I just am unsure of what people would like to see. I need to figure that part out.

Until next time...

Happy Reading!

Sunday, April 14, 2013

Book Guilt

So I'm over on YouTube looking at videos from the BookTube world and I come across a whole lot of videos on book guilt.

While I haven't taken the jump into actually joining in on BookTube I decided that I wanted to do a blog post on this subject.

Guilt: n. The fact of having committed a specified or implied offense or crime.
 Guilt: v. Make (someone) feel guilty, esp. in order to induce them to do something.

Now I have to say that both definition applies to me when it comes to my book guilt.
I have purchased many a book because so many people have read and praised it that I felt guilty not owning a copy of it. I have also felt guilt because I have/purchased a book and but I have not read it and everyone has the ability to make be feel bad for not reading it.

Here is just a short list of books that I have felt a fair share of book guilt over as I have purchased or received a copy and still haven't read them:
1- Emily and Einstein by Linda Francis Lee
2- Barefoot by Elin Hilderbrand
3- These Things Hidden by Heather Gudenkauf
4- Summer Rental by Mary Kay Andrews
5- Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter by Tom Franklin
6- The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman
7-The Trylle Triolgy (SwitchedTorn, & Ascend) by Amanda Hocking
8- House of Night Series (Marked) by P.C. Cast
9- Glow by Amy Kathleen Ryan
10- The Millennium Series (The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo &
The Girl Who Played with Fire) by Stieg Larsson
11- The Help by Kathryn Stockett
12- Entwined by Heather Dixon
13- The Uglies Series (Uglies) by Scott Westerfeld
14- The Divergent Series (Divergent & Insurgent) By Veronica Roth
15- Faith by Jennifer Haigh
16- The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane by Katherine Howe
17- The Giver Quartet (The Giver) by Lois Lowry
18- A Song of Ice and Fire series (A Game of Thrones) by George R. R. Martin
19- The Kane Chronicles (The Red Pyramid, The Throne of Fire, &
The Serpent's Shadow) by Rick Riordan
20- The Michael Vey Series (Michael Vey: The Prisoner of Cell 25) by Richard Paul Evans
21- Life of Pi by Yann Martel
22- The Castaways by Elin Hilderbrand
23- Easy by Tammara Webber
24- The Maze Runner Series (The Maze Runner, The Scorch Trials, &
The Death Cure) by James Dashner
25- The Mortal Instruments Series (City of Bones, City of Ash,
City of GlassCity of Fallen Angels, & City of Lost Souls) by Cassandra Clare
26- The Infernal Devices Series (Clockwork Angel, Clockwork Prince,
& Clockwork Princess) by Cassandra Clare
27- The Books of Bayern Series (The Goose Girl) by Shannon Hale
28- The Shatter Me Series (Shatter Me, Destroy Me, & Unravel Me) by Tahereh Mafi
29- Hope in a Jar by Beth Harbison
30- The Under the Never Sky Series (Under the Never Sky) by Veronica Rossi
31- The Miss Peregrine Series (Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children) by Ransom Riggs
32- The Hopeless Series (Hopeless) by Colleen Hoover
33- Let's Pretend This Never Happened: A Mostly True Memoir by Jenny Lawson
34- The Lunar Chronicles Series (Cinder & Scarlet) by Marissa Meyer
35- The Immortals Series (Shadowland, Dark Flame, Night Star, & Everlasting) by Alyson Noel
36- The Riley Bloom Series (Radiance) by Alyson Noel
37- The Soul Seekers Series (Fated) by Alyson Noel
38- The Robert Langdon Series (Angels & Demons, The Da Vinci Code,
& The Lost Symbol) by Dan Brown
39- The Delirium Series (Pandemonium & Requiem) by Lauren Oliver
40- The Matched Series (Crossed) by Ally Condie
41- Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff, Christ's Childhood Pal by Christopher Moore
42- The Last Letter from Your Lover by Jojo Moyes
43- 11/22/63 by Steven King
44- The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling

So this list is many more books thank I expected and this is just the book from my nook (with the exception of a few books), this doesn't include books I have downloaded from other places that I can get books for my nook, or books that I own a psychical copy.

One thing that I have learned in making this list is I defiantly get more books than I read. When I get into reading ruts I do purchase more books to see if I can get out of my rut rather than seeing if I can use some of the books I have to get out of that rut. I have also had a few jobs and volunteer opportunities that have taken up most of my "free" time that I didn't have many opportunities to just sit and read. I know I could have made more time during those times but I just for whatever reason chose to do other things that I felt more important.

Do you have any book guilt books?

Until next time...

Happy Reading!

Friday, April 5, 2013

New Beginning...

I love reading books.

I love telling people about the books I have read.

I love reviewing books.

The point of this blog is going to be for me to be able to:
  1. Tell people about books that I have read and loved.
  2. Be honest and tell people about books that I read and didn't like so much.
  3. Get people excited about books that are coming out that I am excited about.

To talk about all things books.

I have a giant to be read list that I will share in the coming days. I have a lot of books but I'm going to make a list of some of the books I would love to read/re-read this year.

So far this year I haven't read a single book because I have been at a road block. Hopefully this will change and I will be able to read a great amount of books this year.

Until next time...

Happy Reading!!